Friend of the fair

Since 1989, the Whiteside County Fair Board has chosen to honor an individual or group for their outstanding support or commitment to the Fair

For 2023, the Whiteside County Fair Board has selected Bruce “Beav” Hunter as the Friend of the Fair. 

The 2023, Friend of the Fair . . . . 

Bruce "Beav" Hunter

The Whiteside County Fair Board is pleased to announce that our 2023 Friend of the Fair is Bruce “Beav” Hunter.

He has consistently volunteered his time and various services for the Whiteside County Fair over the course of many years. He has coordinated the wrecker services for our demolition derbies year after year while often bringing two wreckers of his own to assist on the track in getting the demo cars moved as quickly as possible to keep the show moving for our packed grandstand audiences. 

Whenever asked, he has supplied a variety of “out of service” vehicles to our fairgrounds for use in our various thrill shows including this year’s Monster Truck Show. A lesser known contribution, is Beav assisted in the beautification and preservation of our historic round barn, which serves as the symbol and landmark attraction of our fair. In 2013, the roof of the barn was replaced, and prior to that project, it was determined that the spire that sits atop the barn needed a facelift as well. Fair board member Mike Wiersema (whose first job in high school was working with Beav at Hunter’s Body Shop), hand painted the spire and then asked Beav, who graciously accepted, to seal the spire in his body shop to preserve its magnificent beauty for the next decade and beyond. 

Beav has been an integral part of our community as the owner/operator of Hunter’s in Morrison. While their main focus of business was previously in collision repair, they are currently focusing on mechanical services for vehicles, including tires and alignments, as well as local towing in the area.

 Beav is grateful for the many customers that Hunter’s has assisted for well over 45 years, and we are grateful to consider him a Friend of the Fair! 

Previous Years Honoree's

1989 – Eddie Schuler

1990 – Betty Whitebread

1991 – Calvin Simpson

1992 – Marge Smit

1993 – Ralph Frymark

1994 – Tom Vogel

1995 – Orville Goodenough

1996 – Paul Dell

1997 – Donald Ramsdell

1998 – Judith Ross

1999 – Larry Fredericks & Loren Todd

2000 – Whiteside County Sheriff’s Mounted Patrol

2001 – Whiteside County Master Gardeners

2002 – Francis “Pat” Keegan

2003 – Randy Holesinger

2004 – Pat & Doug Skinner

2005 – Morrison Volunteer Fire Department

2006 – Abbott Family

2007 – Merle Reisenbigler

2008 – Frank Belt & Norman Isenhart Family’s

2009 – Mark Schuler

2010 – Vandermyde Family

2011 – Birkey’s/Prophetstown Equipment

2012 – Morrison Blacktop/Stralow Family

2013 – Popcorn Bob & Marilyn Green

2014 – Paul Vock & Dan Heusinkveld

2015 – Fran Gross

2016 – Dale Coleson Family

2017 – Morrison Athletic Boosters

2018 – Gary Folkers Family

2019 – Jill Miller & Goldie Svendsen

2020 – Fair Cancelled – COVID-19

2021 – William “Corndog Billy” Fickling

2022 – Tom Venhuizen & Family

2023 – Bruce “Beav” Hunter